I have to pee on the constant

Hey everyone,

Sorry my posts are always so spread out and unexciting. I was wrapped up for a week and a half or so with re-reading the Harry Potter series. I really enjoyed the 6th and 7th books much more this go-round (I had never re-read them before!) so I am now completely prepared for the release of the 6th movie on July 15th (I think that’s the date). Here’s the latest trailer – totally gave me goosebumps watching it! I know, I am a complete nerd, but watching all of the cool magic, etc is practically orgasmic to me. Okay, now that I’ve gone a little TMI on you….haha.

Since I finished the series I have read 3 books: The Tales of Beedle the Bard, The Mummy, and The Book of Air and Shadows. The Tales weren’t bad, a nice little book giving you an idea of wizard fairy-tales. The Mummy was excellent! I do not know how Anne Rice does it, but damn if she does not get me riled up! I am full of TMI tonight, aren’t I? But really, it was excellent. I still have not figured out if she wrote a sequel to it, but the ending was definitely written in such a way to allow for a sequel. I will look more into it once I have gotten through my mountain. I am down to 80 books to read now 😉 lol.

I just finished The Book of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber today, here’s my review:

I am unsure how I feel about this book. The 2nd half was infinitely better than the first, that’s for certain. To me, it took awhile to really get going. The book has been complemented for its flawed characters, however, I found them to be a little too flawed. Jake is essentially a walking erection who does not care for anything in the world and his constant switching from salivation over a woman’s body to his obsession with himself just made him incredibly unappealing. The characters are interesting, though, I do have to admit. I gave this novel 3.5 stars because the book felt tedious and the first half was not great, but the 2nd half was wonderful. The multiple twists at the end can be a little confusing, but also helped keep my interest in reaching the end.

By the time I got around to reviewing the two previous books I had forgotten most of what I wanted to say, so I decided to not worry about them. In terms of life in general, my current job is coming to an end for the season. I have my last shift tonight (Tuesday night) and then I am unemployed (sort of, since technically I will still be on the payroll for my job as it is seasonal). I have not gotten any interest from any of the numerous applications I have sent out. I am starting to focus more on library positions, than the government, since I think that working in a library is more “me.” Unfortunately, there are a lot less library jobs out there, especially for those without a Masters in Library Science (MLS). I just sent out 2 applications, one for the Blackwater Regional Library System, and another for the DC Public Library System, both offering part-time positions. Around 2 weeks ago, I applied to a great job at Georgetown University as a Circ Desk Clerk (basically my job at Alderman + my supervisors’ jobs) with their medical library. I think I wrote a kick-ass cover letter, I am completely qualified for the position, and that which I do not already know I can learn quickly since I watched what my supervisors did. Alas, I am still afraid I won’t get the job, as I am sure someone better-qualified will apply for the job and the fact that I am 21 and no one would to have someone my age as a library supervisor (as I would be responsible for student workers, building maintenance, etc). *sigh* But I really want that job – good pay and benefits, puts me in DC, which is where I want to relocate to anyway, and GU would likely help pay for me to get a MLS after I had worked with them for awhile. I will just have to keep my fingers crossed. The job close date is June 30th, so I won’t hear anything back until after that. I got the name of someone to contact from the job announcement, and I will email her about a week after the close date. Hopefully it will show me as really eager and make me look better for the job. Wish me luck everyone! I desperately need it!

But alright, I think this update is long enough. I am off to munch on something and watch some TV on DVD 🙂

❤

Leave a Reply

