Friday Firsts: The Art Thief

fridayfirstsmeme

The Book: The Art Thief ArtThiefNCharney

Author: Noah Charney

ISBN: 9781416550303

First Sentence:

It was almost as if she were waiting, hanging there, in the painted darkness.

Not a bad opening sentence to be honest. You want to know who is waiting and where she is; questions that instantly hook you into the story. Thus far, I have mixed feelings on the novel. The third person, omniscient narrator jumps around a lot, which, while giving you different perspectives, gets confusing after awhile. But the discussions about art history are fascinating, and the tidbits of French phrasing here and there always excite me. Love the opportunity to practice the French I’ve learned over many years. 🙂

Mini update on life: Just finished watching X-Men Origins: Wolverine with the fam. My aunt and her husband came down from Stafford for a few hours to belatedly celebrate my birthday, and early-celebrate my aunt’s birthday. For my (apparently) combination birthday/Christmas gift I received a new down comforter and 2 new down pillows. Very nice, granted I already knew about the gifts, though beside the point. Hopefully I’ll stop having neck problems with the new pillows, and it’ll be nice to have a good quality down comforter. Same aunt bought me a cheapy alternative-down comforter a good 5-6 years ago, and I’ve greatly enjoyed it.

Actual Update haha: I have gotten myself a temporary job as a transcriber for The Schoolhouse Museum: African-American History Museum of Public Education. A recent (1-2 years ago) grant allowed them to renovate a nearby one-room schoolhouse and they conducted interviews of many people who used to go to the various small schools in the area. So I will be transcribing the interviews from audio-taped interviews. Only temporary as obviously there are only so many interviews. I meet with the woman on Monday and she will give me my first tapes and explain to me format, etc. And depending on how I do, I’ll get more. I also recently joined paperbackswap.com – I never realized how many book swapping sites that are out there! I’ve been on BookMooch, but PBS seems to actually have a larger collection to work with. So that’s been fun getting used to it.

Alright, that’s all for now. Need to get this published before it’s 2 days “late!”

Friday First Directions:

The first line can make or break a reader’s interest. Just how well did the author pull you in to the story with their first sentence? To participate in this weekly book meme is extremely easy.

Grab the book you are currently reading and open to the first page.

Write down the first sentence in the first paragraph.

Did this first sentence help draw you into the story? Why or why not?

Create a blog post with this information. (Make sure to include the title & author of the book you are using. Even an ISBN helps!)

Go back to post on Well-Read Reviews.com and add your review to Mr. Linky! (Or just click image above!)

One response to this post.

  1. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

